Roche Commissions 2012

“Chute d’Étoiles” (“Falling Stars”) is the name of a work by the German artist Anselm Kiefer that was featured at the Monumenta 2007 exhibition in Paris. In that work, seven houses and three sculptures symbolized humanity’s divine oneness with the cosmos: “We are made up of elements of the cosmos. And so we carry within ourselves the infinitely large as well as the infinitely small.” Matthias Pintscher has chosen the same title for his latest piece—not surprisingly, since the work involves an “hommage à Anselm Kiefer.” “Chute d’Étoiles” receives its world premiere as a Roche Commission at LUCERNE FESTIVAL.

Symphony Concert 10
Saturday, 25 August 2012 | 18.30 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall
The Cleveland Orchestra | Franz Welser-Möst conductor | Michael Sachs trumpet | Jack Sutte trumpet

Matthias Pintscher (*1971)
“Chute d’Étoiles” for two Trumpets and Orchestra (Roche Commissions world premiere)

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)
Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, WAB 104 “Romantic” 
Version from 1888, edited by Benjamin Korstvedt