Roche Commissions 2010

The fifth recipient of the Roche Commissions award to promote contemporary classical music, is Japanese native Toshio Hosokawa. Toshio Hosokawa can be characterized as a border-crosser par excellence: Not in the sense that he merely crosses borders, but rather in that he continually tests, transcends, and redefines them. His work transcends temporal limits, for it is genuinely contemporary while at the same time being rooted in the tradition of “gagaku”, or Japanese court music, which reaches back more than a thousand years. His work probes biographical boundaries as well, for Hosokawa is constantly in search of a dialogue with himself, with his dreams, with childhood memories, and with events from his own
life and from those relating to his family and his nation. And, not least, Hosokawa’s work redefines spatial boundaries, in that for more than twenty years it has been combining Japanese and European musical traditions. For such a multi-faceted melding to succeed requires a good deal of engagement, dialogue, and exchange. Thus much attention has been given in particular to this kind of discourse – between East and West, between art and science, between tradition and innovation – and to reflections both on what connects and on what separates the music of these two cultures.

Symphony Concert 12
Saturday, 28 August 2010 | 18.30 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall 
The Cleveland Orchestra | Franz Welser-Möst conductor

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un Faune

Toshio Hosokawa (*1955)
"Woven Dreams" for Orchestra – world première (Roche Commissions)

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Ein Heldenleben (“A Hero’s Life”), Op. 40